Perfectly Seared Ribeye Steak & Creamy Mushrooms Sauce Recipe with Heston Blumenthal Method

wagyu beef steak creamy mushrooms sauce

Kobe Style Beef Ribeye Steak with Creamy Mushrooms

Perfectly Seared Kobe Style Ribeye Steak with Creamy Mushrooms Sauce Recipe with Heston Blumenthal Method. I love beef steak all the way, the best ever beef steak for my licking must be flavoursome, juicy and yet tender, especially when it’s melt in my mouth. My searching of perfection about  how to seared beef steak driven me to Heston Blumenthal Method that combine an easy and  home friendly fridge dry aging method and scientific maillard reaction. When i post my last Grilled Wagyu Beef Steak with Roasted Pepper Sauce Recipe, my friend Eva Taylor from Kitchen Inspirations suggest me about The Perfect Steak- Heston Blumentha Video. Browsing along in the internet driven me to How To Cook The Perfect Steak by Lorraine Elliott from Not Quite Nigella, after reading and watching the video, i think this Heston’s Blumenthal Perfect Seared Steak Method is worth to try.

wagyu ribeye recipe usa kobe style beef steak recipe

16 USD for almost 200 gr USA Kobe-style Wagyu Ribeye Steak, freaking expensive!!!

I’m using Kobe Style USA Wagyu Ribeye from Food Hall Supermarket. This wagyu steak was tagged 16 USD (IDR 162.580= 3 pounds of regular beef) for about ONLY almost 200 gr (83 USD per kilo) of it, sounds incredibly pricey and i though this Heston’s Blumenthal method has to be works unless i’m gonna damn him for ruined my pricey wagyu ribeye . The Kobe-style ribeye beef steak itself was intensly marbled and for sure it’s gonna be tender, how juicy the meat  and how crusted the seared outer layer is all about i’m gonna to prove with Heston’s method.

wagyu steak USA Kobe beef recipe

Heston’s 2 Days Dry Aged Ribeye Steak in My Fridge, Note the Waxy Outer Layer with Intensely Marbled Fat

To make a perfect seared steak, you should follow the steps:

Step 1– First step is dry aging the beef steak in the fridge by placing the steak above metal wire rack and left it undisturbed for at least two days.  The beef aging concentrates the flavour in the steak by evaporation and also break down or tenderized the meat by active enzymes works. The beef is ready when it’s outer layer turn into some waxy and firmer texture when you touch it. Never forget to take the steaks out of the fridge for a couple of minutes until it reach the room temperature before you cooked it

Recipe beef steak mushrooms cream sauce wagyu ribeye steak creamy mughrooms

Perfectly Seared Ribeye Steak with Crusted Outer Layer

Step 2 – Second step was the searing the beef steak.  Heat a cast iron frypan until sizzling hot, i mean very-very hot until it freakingly mad smoking. Never forget to turn off your smoke alarm before you cooking the steak and luckily i don’t have one. Heston even warns that it will feel like you might burn your house down but you won’t. My aunty who lives next to me even asked what i’m doing and i just replied “it’s okey Tante (aunty), i just made steak”. I sprinkle some salt and black pepper (the original recipe didn’t add the black pepeprcorn) on the steak and add a layer of oil to the pan. You can use your stopwatch for countdown, but i’m using my mind as i used to be countdown the time for composite dental filling light cure. I put the steak on the pan and allow it to cook for 15 seconds then turn it over every 15 seconds for totally about  2 minutes for my 1  3/4  inches thick (200gr) wagyu ribeye steak.

dry aged beef steak medium rare wagyu with creamy mushrooms steak

Perfectly Medium Rare Seared Kobe Sty;e USA Wagyu Ribeye

Step 3– The third steps was resting the meat. Resting the meat to allow the juices reabsorbed into the meat and it’s the secret of juicy steak. Once you’ve removed the steak from the pan, stick your meat with meat termometer in the thickest part of the stek,  rare should be 45C/113F, medium 55C/131F and well done 65C/149F.  Mine was 49C and i guess it’s perfectly medium rare and exactly what i wanted to. Let the meat rest for 5 minutes before serving. Just look at my perfectly seared Kobe-Style USA wagyu ribeye photograph and you’ll know it was perfectly medium rare steak and don’t forget to notice the melted fat all over the meat and it’s made the damn hell pricey wagyu steak as tender and melted as heaven.

medium rare wagyu beef steak with creamy mushrooms sauce

Perfectly Seared Ribeye Steak with Creamy Mushrooms Sauce Recipe with Heston Blumenthal Method

The verdict of the steak with Heston’s Blumenthal method it’s pretty damn works with my US Kobe-style wagyu ribeye. The Maillard reaction or simply caramelization of  amino acids (protein) and reducing sugars that gives browned color and crusted layer on the outer steak produce a desirable umami flavor. The flipping process turn down the heat from the steak outer layer quickly and it’s prevent the inside of the steak get overcooked while the outer layer got properly seared. The meat is totally juicy as i expected because the seared outer layer seal the juice inside the meat.  I’ve try the insanely expensive dry aged beef for my Dry Aged Black Angus Striploin Steak with Spicy Balsamic Vinegar and Shallots Jam Recipe, and i guess this Heston’s blumenthal of home friendly fridge dry aging beef works pretty good too since the beef steak got almost the same beefy flavoursome with the pricey 30 days dry aged beef. I wonder my next project is about blind tasting of comercialized dry anged steak vs Heston’s dry aging method, i hope one of my sisters will be the sponsors, lol

recipe creamy mushrooms sauce cream with beef ribeye steak wagyu

Perfectly Seared Steak with Juicy, Tender and Beefy Flavoursome with Creamy Umami Mushrooms Sauce

recipe ribeye beef steak with creamy mushrooms sauce

Creamy Mushrooms Sauce with Perfectly Seared Ribeye Steak

Creamy mushrooms sauce was the perfectly accompanion for my perfectly seared ribeye steak with Heston’s method. I’m using japanese shimeji mushrooms or Brown Beech Mushroom for this recipe, but you can use any kind of mushrooms that you’re like. I recommended button mushrooms or shiitake mushrooms for making steak sauce. I also served the steak with deep fried sweet potato that i cook according to my Spicy Seasoned Deep Fried Cassava or Yuca Root and some Homemade Roasted Garlic Bulb. Instead of creamy mushrooms sauce, you can choose any kind of my favourite selection of sauces for steak; Italian Spicy Tomato & Basil Sauce, Creamy Bechamel Sauce, Roasted Tomato Sauce, Roasted Pepper Sauce, Creamy Green Peppercorn Sauce, Reduced Red Wine Demi Glace Sauce, Italian Salsa Verde Sauce or Roasted Garlic Sauce

Perfectly Seared Beef Steak Recipe with Heston's Blumenthal Method:

Perfectly Seared Beef Steak Recipe with Heston’s Blumenthal Method:

Perfectly Seared Beef Steak Recipe with Heston’s Blumenthal Method:

Ingredients :

  • 2 @ 200 gr beef steak (i’m using Kobe-style USA wagyu ribeye)
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp melted butter
  •  seasalt and freshly grounded black peppercorn

How to Perfectly Seared Beef Steak Recipe with Heston’s Blumenthal Method:

  1. Unwrap your beef steak and pat dry, put it above wire rack in the middle of your fridge rack and let it undisturbed for 2 days
  2. Take the steaks out of the fridge for a couple of hours and reach the room temperature
  3. Rub all the wagyu topside steak with salt and black peppercorn and make sure it coated evenly
  4. Heat up your skillet until as hot as it could be
  5. Set your stopwatch to countdown the time
  6. Just before searing, pour the  olive oil and melted butter to the pan
  7. Put the kobe wagyu steak to the pan and cook it for 15 seconds.
  8. Flip the steak over and over again every 15 seconds until it’s got a nice charred and crusted surface for about totally 2 minutes
  9. Check the wagyu beef steak doness (medium rare is preferred) with meat thermometer and slet it rest for at least 5 minutes
  10. Served the perfectly seared kobe wagyu ribeye steak with the creamy mushrooms sauce
creamy mushrooms sauce for steak recipe

Creamy Mushrooms Sauce For Perfectly Seared Ribeye Steak

Creamy Mushrooms Sauce Recipe :

Ingredients:
  • 1 tbsp  butter
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 150 g  shimeji mushrooms (button mushrooms or shiitake mushrooms would be lovely too)
  • 150 ml heavy cream
  • 1 tbsp chopped garlic*optional
  • 1 tbsp chopped onion*optional
  • 1 tbsp chopped shallots*optional
  • Salt and pepper to taste

How To Make Creamy Mushrooms Sauce Recipe

  1. Heat oil and butter a medium saucepan over medium-high heat.
  2. Add the onion, garlic and shalots and cook for about 1 minute until the mixture  fragrant but not browned
  3. Add sliced mushrooms and stir-fry until they are lightly browned, reduce heat to medium.
  4. Add cream, salt and pepper and bring to a boil.
  5. Simmer until the sauce has reduced by half
  6. Remove from heat and serve over your favourite Perfectly seared Kobe-style ribeye steak.

You May Also Like (Click!)

filet mignon recipe tenderloin wagyu bacon wrappedrecipe wagyu ribeye steak green peppercorn cream saucerecipe slow grilled lamb leg steak barbecue lamb

salmon meatball recipe cheese stuffed salmon fishrecipe wagyu beef steak roasted pepper saucerecipe pan seared grouper fillet roasted tomato sauce

tomahawk steak salsa verde recipedry aged sirloin steak with shallots jam balsamic vinegarslow roasted beef ribs garam masala recipe

grilled ribeye steak with peppercorn crust  saladChicken betel leaves wrapped vietnamese recipepaella valenciana recipe chicken rabbit snails spanish rice

marlin fish steak fillet black garlic lemongrass sauce dentist chef recipesirloin steak recipe how grill sirloin meat saffron mashed potato tempeh saladbruschetta venison avocado pesto recipe

smoked lamb recipe smoked lamb rack chop porcini mushroom crustedpistachio crusted lamb chop lamb rach with spinach feta stuffed lambBraised lamb shank with navy bean and red bean recipe how braise lamb recipe

Schweinshaxe reciperecipe veal scalloppine mushrooms wine cream sauce green peppercornvenison bresaola recipe homemade cured deer loin

roasted lobster butter garlic ginger soy sauce recipepan seared lamb chop tomato concase butteren couscous recipebraised venison ribs wine tomato saffron recipe

beef rendang recipe resep rendang padangbraised beef shank recipe hot and sour beefsweet sour lobster chilli tomato sauce spicy singapore sauce

How Recipe braised beef ribs red curry coconut milkgrilled roasted beef ribs green chilli spicy sauceResep kalio daging sapi rendang padang indonesian beef rendang brown color

milanese risotto saffron recipegrilled lamb leg recipe with spicy sauce salsa balinese sambal matahbarramundi fish fillet green peppercorn sauce barramundi recipe

55 thoughts on “Perfectly Seared Ribeye Steak & Creamy Mushrooms Sauce Recipe with Heston Blumenthal Method

  1. Thank you for the shout out Dedy, I appreciate it. I’m glad it worked out for you, we tried it last year and it worked perfectly well for us too and we didn’t even use an expensive steak!
    The creamy mushroom sauce looks exceptional and I bet it was over the top delicious with that perfectly seared steak.

  2. Looks great! Dry aging really tastes good doesn’t it? Heston’s method works a treat, but when I’m grilling off 30 steaks at once, I definitely only turn them once! 🙂

  3. This dish looks really, really, really good Dedy! I love creamy mushroom sauce, so my mouth was watering when I saw the photos. If I were to give this recipe ago, I would cook the steak for longer as I like my steak well done. I think this will still go nicely with the sauce 🙂

  4. The beef is quite pricey but it worth. I can see the outcome and I’ve heard about the quality of the beef; popularized by the Japanese though I can’t comment about the taste. The sauce looks really creamy and tempting. I shall try with salmon and definitely for the same delicious flavors. I’m sure it will work out perfectly great.

  5. Yum! This steak is cooked the way I like…and yes, the creamy mushroom looks perfect with it…delicious looking dish Dedy.
    Have a wonderful week ahead 😀

  6. Can’t get fresh beef where I am, much less Kobe or wagyu or whatever – just the frozen imported Aussie or NZ ones. Would have to cook it well done, to be sure…and that would not be so nice. That’s why I would usually cook beef, stewed or as soup…or in curry, never pan seared.

  7. Oh my goodness – you are killing me tonight!! Too much good food in one evening. We can get kobe beef around here, but I have to give up a leg. 🙂 It’s good stuff though and I bet it would be heavenly with this mushroom sauce!

  8. Pingback: Perfectly Seared Ribeye Steak & Creamy Mushrooms Sauce Recipe | Animeagain.com

  9. Hi Dedy, you’re an excellent chef. Everything you cook look so delightful and your presentation is like from 5 stars hotel. This steak look awesome. Well done!

    Have a nice day.

  10. Interesting way of cooking steak! I’ve heard of that, but haven’t tried it. My steak is often quite a bit thicker, though, so I’ll do the initial sear with a smoking hot cast iron pan, then finish in the oven. Should get a thinner steak and try this! Thanks so much.

  11. Dear Dedy, what a wonderful method for preparing what looks like the most perfect steak and the creamy mushroom sauce sounds utterly delightful as well! I had never heard of this method before – it sounds fabulous, dear friend!

  12. I can just imagine how good your steak was. I’ll have to try this method when I can open our windows once the weather warms up as our smoke detector can’t be turned off. 😀

  13. I really only have one word to describe this: Perfect! The meat is so wonderfully dark and crusty on the outside and so rare on the inside -> perfection 🙂

  14. Oh my…you always make me drool! What a perfect cooked steak! And those marbles are definitely gorgeous. I’ve always wanted to age my own steak at home…but haven’t get the guts to, especially with pricey steaks. Guess I just have to give it a try, REAL soon!

  15. THAT looks amazing. The tips you gave are ace, completely doing that dry aging trick from now on. What I usually do is get dry aged steak from a really good butcher, but it tends to be pricier, so this is brilliant ! Good one.

  16. Your photos and your recipes always make me hungry and I just finished lunch and now I want a steak. However, I do not want any steak I want a deeply marbled kobe steak and prepared in your method. I love that creamy mushroom sauce too. I am sorry I am just playing catch up and reading all of your delicious recipes. Take Care, BAM

  17. Pingback: Salsas para carnes y otros platos deliciosos

Leave a Reply

